‘The Order of the White Boar’ – two bestselling books in one! #CoverReveal!

Further to yesterday’s post (‘An announcement … is on its way…’), I’m delighted to announce that the first two books of my ‘Order of the White Boar’ sequence, telling the story of the real King Richard III, are now available in a single volume.

From today, the ebook of the full story of Richard’s life from 1482, The Order of the White Boar, Books 1 and 2, is available for pre-order from Amazon at the following links (publication date 26 March 2021). The paperback version of the two-books-in-one will also be available on 26 March at the same place:


I’m also delighted to present its fabulous cover for the first time – designed by the wonderful (and very patient!) Ellie of Book Visuals.

I’m certain that any one, of any age – 10 or 110, or any number in between – would be happy to be seen reading a book with this cover! So if anyone you know was hesitant to read King Richard’s story as told by Matthew Wansford because ‘it’s for kids’, send them in the direction of this new version – and the reviews of the original version that say, for example:

‘I bought this book for my teenage nephew, but could not resist a sneaky peek … I was hooked … A perfect book choice for children and adults alike.’

‘Despite being a book for children, it is so wonderfully written that it is suitable for adult readers too.’

‘Originally bought it for my son but just couldn’t resist reading it as well. While this is certainly aimed at younger readers, it’s a lot of fun for the grown-ups as well.’

‘I enjoyed every minute. This is a book that can be enjoyed by all ages.’

‘A brilliant read for adults and children alike.’ 

‘Although this is written for middle grade children, I still thoroughly enjoyed it as an adult and as someone who knows this time period well.’

‘Extremely well researched, well-told and well-written historical fiction from and for the younger point of view, with enough depth to appeal just as much to older readers too. Full of angst, action and tension.’

‘A thoroughly enjoyable read. I’d recommend it to historical fiction fans young and old… I read this and the sequel back to back.’

That last reviewer would have found it even easier to read both books back to back if they’d been able to order it via:


Glad to be of service!

Loyaulte me lie!

Alex Marchant is author of two books telling the story of the real King Richard III for children aged 10+, The Order of the White Boar and The King’s Man, and editor of Grant Me the Carving of My Name and Right Trusty and Well Beloved…, two anthologies of short fiction inspired by the king, sold in support of Scoliosis Association UK (SAUK). A third book in the ‘White Boar’ sequence, King in Waiting, will be published in 2021.

Alex’s books can be found on Amazon at:






My Facebook author page 

My Twitter handle  and Matthew Wansford’s

Instagram: AlexMarchantAuthor

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17175168.Alex_Marchant

About alexmarchantblog

A Ricardian since a teenager, and following stints as an archaeologist and in publishing, Alex now lives and works in King Richard’s own country, not far from his beloved York and Middleham
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s