Middleham Richard III Weekend, 3rd-4th July

I’m delighted to confirm that our author event will take place as planned on the weekend of 3rd and 4th July – the date customarily reserved for the town’s Richard III Festival (sadly cancelled again this year owing to covid restrictions).

Four authors will be gathering to read from and talk about their work in and around the Castle. So why not come along and join us?

Entry to the Castle is by pre-booked timed slots, but we’ll be based outside the main gateway, so anyone can come and chat, listen to talks/readings, and peruse the many and varied books on offer.

And as a special treat, the weekend will also include the launch of the brand new Wars of the Roses alternative history anthology, ‘The Road Not Travelled‘, featuring short stories by 20 talented authors exploring many facets of the period.

The editor, Joanne Larner, will be one of the authors at the event. Many of you will know her from her previous books, ‘Richard Liveth Yet’ Books 1 to 3 and ‘Distant Echoes’, as well as her collaboration with Susan Kokomo Lamb on ‘Dickon’s Diaries‘, Books 1 and 2. I’m pleased to say Sue will also be joining us – and Jo and Sue promise (as ever) some riotous readings from the fabulous ‘Diaries’, set of course in Middleham – sorry, Muddleham, itself.

Also joining us for the weekend is Maryann Benbow, author of ‘A Meeting of Souls’ and the ‘Soldier’ series (with Book 2 ‘Meeting the Past’ just recently hitting the shelves). Both ‘Meeting of Souls’ and ‘Meeting the Past’ have major parts set in Middleham.

And completing the quartet will be myself – and I’ll be launching a book of my own – Time out of Time (‘tune in’ tomorrow for the cover reveal!) – as well as selling my own books about Richard III – alongside those of various other Ricardian authors. As I mentioned, many and varied books will be on offer!

So if you’re in the area, why not pop along and say hello? You’ll be sure of a warm Ricardian welcome!

With very many thanks as always to Gill and her team for hosting us!

Alex Marchant is author of two books telling the story of the real King Richard III for children aged 10+, The Order of the White Boar and The King’s Manand a third in the sequence, King in Waiting, which continues the adventures of the young members of the Order in the following years. A fourth book, Sons of York, is due out in 2022.

Alex is also editor of Grant Me the Carving of My Name and Right Trusty and Well Beloved…, two anthologies of short fiction inspired by King Richard, sold in support of Scoliosis Association UK (SAUK). 

Alex has also published a standalone timeslip novel for readers aged 10+, Time out of Time, relating the adventures of Allie Turner through a doorway into history found under layers of old wallpaper at ancient Priory Farm.

Alex’s books can be found on Amazon at:








My Facebook author page 

My Twitter handle  and Matthew Wansford’s

Instagram: AlexMarchantAuthor

About alexmarchantblog

A Ricardian since a teenager, and following stints as an archaeologist and in publishing, Alex now lives and works in King Richard’s own country, not far from his beloved York and Middleham
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Middleham Richard III Weekend, 3rd-4th July

  1. Pingback: ‘Time out of Time’ – available as paperback and ebook! | The Order of the White Boar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s