Publication date for ‘King in Waiting’ … and another announcement!

Two weeks ago I made a couple of big announcements at the Indy Author Virtual Summer book fair on Facebook.

You may have seen them – or perhaps not… It was a lovely summer weekend (at least where I was) and not everyone will have been glued to their PC or bothered to scroll through all my or my fellow authors’ posts.

So in case you missed them…. here they are again!

I’m delighted to announce the publication date for the third book in the ‘Order of the White Boar’ sequence.

King in Waiting, long-awaited by some of you, will be published in ebook and paperback on 17th September 2021.

Three years in the writing (I’m not the speediest author around), the book continues the story of Matthew Wansford and his friends, Alys Langdown and Roger de Kynton, in the period after the fateful battle of Bosworth in August 1485, when the usurper Henry Tudor was attempting to consolidate his rule and found his famous dynasty. What will happen to these three loyal members of the Order of the White Boar in the ‘twilight between the golden sun of Yorkist rule and the dark unknown of the Tudor future’?

Sign up to my blog at and/or follow my Facebook author page at to see the fabulous cover of ‘King in Waiting’ as soon as it’s revealed, and also to read the blurb and discover how to pre-order once details are available.

And my other special announcement?

Only that a fourth book in the sequence will also be available before long. Full details of the provisionally titled ‘Sons of York’ will be available in due course on all my social media.

Alex Marchant is author of two books telling the story of the real King Richard III for children aged 10+, The Order of the White Boar and The King’s Man, and editor of Grant Me the Carving of My Name and Right Trusty and Well Beloved…, two anthologies of short fiction inspired by the king, sold in support of Scoliosis Association UK (SAUK). A third book in the ‘White Boar’ sequence, King in Waiting, will be published 17 September 2021. Alex has also published a standalone timeslip novel for readers aged 10+, Time out of Time.

Alex’s books can be found on Amazon at:

My Facebook author page 

My Twitter handle  and Matthew Wansford’s

Instagram: AlexMarchantAuthor

About alexmarchantblog

A Ricardian since a teenager, and following stints as an archaeologist and in publishing, Alex now lives and works in King Richard’s own country, not far from his beloved York and Middleham
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s