‘King in Waiting’ – cover reveal! And now available for pre-order…

I’m delighted to reveal the cover for King in Waiting – at last!

As with the previous books in The Order of the White Boar sequence, this has been designed by the very talented Ollie Bennett of MoreVisual.

I hope it offers an intriguing hint or two as to what may be contained within the novel’s pages… Do let me know what you think!

The full cover will soon be available, but in the meantime, the following blurb will give you a flavour of what the book has in store…


These are dangerous days for the Order of the White Boar

King Richard III has been betrayed and killed

Victorious Henry Tudor sits uneasily on the throne of England

Richard’s loyal friend, Francis Lovell, plots revenge

Alys Langdown, ward of the Queen, awaits an unknown fate

And ever-loyal Matthew Wansford serves his new master, Edward Plantagenet, true King of England – who now must seek his own road …

From exile in Flanders to an uncertain welcome over the sea – what challenges lie ahead for the Order and for the King in Waiting?

Follow Matthew and his friends’ adventures in Book 3 of The Order of the White Boar

‘Evocative and intriguing… brings the uncertain and dangerous times after the Battle of Bosworth to life’ – Wendy Johnson, member of the Looking for Richard Project

A wonderful work of historical fiction for both children and adults’ – Ricardian Bulletin of the Richard III Society

I’m also very pleased to say that the ebook is now also available for pre-order on Amazon at:


The ebook will be delivered to your Kindle on publication day – 17 September – which also happens to be the likely date of birth of one of my leading men…

Paperback is also due the same day from Amazon – or please contact me to order copies (signed if you wish): AlexMarchant84@gmail.com or DM me via Facebook or Twitter.

I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of the book!

Alex Marchant is author of two books telling the story of the real King Richard III for children aged 10+, The Order of the White Boar and The King’s Man, and editor of Grant Me the Carving of My Name and Right Trusty and Well Beloved…, two anthologies of short fiction inspired by the king, sold in support of Scoliosis Association UK (SAUK). 

A third book in the ‘White Boar’ sequence, King in Waiting, is currrently available for pre-order and will be published on 17 September 2021, with the fourth, Sons of York, due out in 2022. Alex has also published a standalone timeslip novel for readers aged 10+, Time out of Time.

Alex’s books can be found on Amazon at:








My Facebook author page 

My Twitter handle  and Matthew Wansford’s

Instagram: AlexMarchantAuthor

About alexmarchantblog

A Ricardian since a teenager, and following stints as an archaeologist and in publishing, Alex now lives and works in King Richard’s own country, not far from his beloved York and Middleham
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to ‘King in Waiting’ – cover reveal! And now available for pre-order…

  1. Pingback: ‘The Lost King’ – first picture and full details | The Order of the White Boar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s