Available for pre-order: ‘Clamour and Mischief’, an anthology…

My new short story ‘Watchers’ is now available for pre-order as part of the upcoming anthology Clamour and Mischief from Clan Destine Press.

I was delighted when editor and fellow author Narrelle Harris invited me to submit a short story to her planned anthology about the corvid family of birds – crows, rooks, ravens, magpies… Some of my favourite birds – fiercely intelligent and deeply embedded in the folklore of the British Isles. But I had no idea at all where the invitation would lead me… until I was driving one day through the ancient Yorkshire village of West Tanfield on the way to Middleham Castle…

Who are the Watchers and why do they wait?

Weaving together ancient Irish legend and the last battle of the Wars of the Roses, ‘Watchers may re-acquaint you with one or two familiar faces …

© altocello | https://altocello.com/

A clamour of rooks. A mischief of magpies.
A storytelling of crows.

All the corvids – the rooks and ravens, jays and jackdaws, crows and magpies – have the best collective nouns. A parliament and a party. Tidings and titterings, bands and trains. An unkindness.

Clamour and Mischief brings a veritable storytelling to these corvidae, this bird family known for intelligence, cunning and connection with folklore and urban legends. Our storytellers come from around the world and include award-winning and shortlisted writers, as well as fledgling authors in their professional debut.

This anthology’s sixteen striking stories, edited by Narrelle M Harris, are imbued with the humour, darkness, wisdom and magic of the birds which inspired them. Take them as a jest, a guide, or a warning – but don’t, whatever you do, ignore them!

Full details and pre-order at: https://www.clandestinepress.net/products/clamour-and-mischief

Alex Marchant is author of two books telling the story of the real King Richard III for children aged 10+, The Order of the White Boar and The King’s Manand a third in the sequence, King in Waiting, which continues the adventures of the young members of the Order in the following years. A fourth book, Sons of York, was published in June 2022.

Alex is also editor of Grant Me the Carving of My Name and Right Trusty and Well Beloved…, two anthologies of short fiction inspired by King Richard, sold in support of Scoliosis Association UK (SAUK). 

Alex has also published a standalone timeslip novel for readers aged 10+, Time out of Time, relating the adventures of Allie Turner through a doorway into history found under layers of old wallpaper at ancient Priory Farm.

Alex’s books can be found on Amazon at:









My Facebook author page 

My Twitter handle  and Matthew Wansford’s

Instagram: AlexMarchantAuthor


About alexmarchantblog

A Ricardian since a teenager, and following stints as an archaeologist and in publishing, Alex now lives and works in King Richard’s own country, not far from his beloved York and Middleham
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s