Tewkesbury 2019

So another Tewkesbury Medieval Festival has been and gone – and another Yorkist victory – of course! I doubt anyone has ever suggested to the organizers that an ‘alternative ending’ would be welcomed! (unlike at Bosworth 2018…)

Tewkes from Susan Buonaparte (2)

This year I managed to see rather more of the battle than last (when I’m afraid I cowered at my stall inside the marquee rather than brave the blazing heat outside – unlike the staunch warriors who took the field in full harness). I also stayed to see the final defeat of the Lancastrians in the grounds of the Abbey, followed by the infamous beheadings – much cheered by the townspeople, all of course loyal to good King Edward and his gallant young brother, Richard of Gloucester.

So this time I have a few more photos to share, to accompany the many already circulating from various sources on Facebook. For some reason I appear to have attracted fierce looks from many of the fighters – perhaps, as I suspect, my headgear just isn’t up to scratch… Lucky that I may be sporting different attire for my next event… Watch this space!

The Muster

 

His Grace King Edward

P1040933

 

The attempt to parley with the Lancastrians…

 

The waiting troops watch…

P1040957

 

Battle is joined…

 

The defeated Lancastrians retreat…

 

The final showdown at the Abbey

P1040851

 

The victorious king and his retinue

 

It’s not looking good for this chap….

P1040887

 

What follows… traitors all!

P1040902

 

Peace is restored to the Abbey

P1040907

 

Just a reminder…

P1040836

 

About alexmarchantblog

A Ricardian since a teenager, and following stints as an archaeologist and in publishing, Alex now lives and works in King Richard’s own country, not far from his beloved York and Middleham
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment